Tax Relief

Tax breaks accessible for Madison County’s twister victims

MARYVILLE – Madison County’s residents hit by the December tornado now have an extended deadline to file their taxes, and Senator Rachelle Aud Crowe (D-Glen Carbon) is delighted to have more time to put their affairs in order bring.

“Our community bravely faced a natural disaster that struck our community last month,” said Crowe. “During this difficult time, those affected by this devastating storm should focus on recovering for themselves and their families.”

The tax break announced on Thursday will postpone filing deadlines and mitigate certain penalties for late payments for those hit by storms starting December 10, 2021. Individuals and corporations have until May 16 to file returns and pay all income taxes originally due during that period, including 2021 income tax returns due April 18 and various 2021 company returns normally due on March 15 and December 18 April are due.

Taxpayers affected by the renewal can choose to pay the estimated fourth quarter tax payments, which are usually on December 18.

When submitting a declaration by mail, taxpayers should write “Tornado-December 2021” at the top of their declaration in red. If filing electronically, taxpayers must notify the department via email that their return will be delayed This email address is being protected from spam bots! You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. They should include their full name, bank account number (only the last four digits if using a Social Security number), postal address, and an estimate of when they think they can file or pay taxes.

“I hope the extra time allocated to preparing, filing, and paying state taxes will be helpful,” said Crowe.

Tax breaks are now available to taxpayers who live or have a business in Counties of Bond, Cass, Coles, Effingham, Fayette, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike and Shelby.

Related Articles