Personal Taxes

Opponents filibuster invoice to cut back prime personal earnings tax charge in Nebraska | Nationwide Information

Legislation to reduce Nebraska’s top personal income tax rate smacked into a filibuster Wednesday waged by opponents who said it would overwhelmingly advantage wealthy taxpayers while leading to deep cuts in state revenue.

Sen. Lou Ann Linehan of Elkhorn, chairwoman of the Legislature’s Revenue Committee and sponsor of the bill (LB939), argued that the proposal would bring tax relief to most Nebraskans, help address the challenge of building the state’s workforce and attract more businesses to the state.

“It’s a tax cut for middle-class families,” Linehan said. “It’s not about the rich.”

But it disproportionately benefits wealthy Nebraskans like Gov. Pete Ricketts, Sen. Megan Hunt of Omaha argued while providing a tax cut as low as $7 for some Nebraskans.

“We should target tax cuts,” Hunt said, while creating more income tax brackets rather than continue to crowd most Nebraskans into the highest bracket which applies to all taxpayers earning more than $33,100 a year.

“This is a tax cut for millionaires and billionaires,” she said.

The bill would incrementally reduce the 6.84% rate currently in effect to 5.84% by 2025, phasing the cut in with a reduced corporate income tax rate.

Sen. Curt Friesen of Henderson sounded an alarm bell about the potential impact on future state revenue.

“It goes too far,” he said. “It would lead to a significant decline in revenue. We need to look at long-term fiscal stability.”

The proposed tax cut would reduce anticipated annual state revenue by $61.7 million in fiscal 2022-23, growing to $363.4 million by fiscal 2026-27, according to a legislative estimate of the fiscal impact.

“We’re simply not competitive with our neighboring states” in terms of tax policy, Linehan said.

And, besides, she said, “It’s their money, not ours.”

Current tax rates are “not conducive to growing our state,” Sen. Tom Briese of Albion said in supporting the bill.

Speaker of the Legislature Mike Hilgers of Lincoln said current tax policy “chokes off opportunity for people in the middle class.”

Referring to proposals to create more tax brackets, Sen. Robert Hilkemann of Omaha said he “hope(s) we can find a way that we can afford this bill.”

Meet the state senators making laws in 2022

Ray Aguilar

updated
Feb 15, 2022

district 35

Ray Aguilar

Grand Island

Elected 2020

402-471-2617

raguilar@leg.ne.gov



Joni Albrecht

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Joni Albrecht

district 17

Joni Albrecht

thurston

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2716

jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov



John Arch

updated
Feb 15, 2022

John Arch

district 14

John Arch

LaVista

Elected 2018

402-471-2730

jarch@leg.ne.gov



CarolBlood

updated
Feb 15, 2022

CarolBlood

district 3

CarolBlood

Bellevue

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2627

cblood@leg.ne.gov



Eliot Bostar

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Eliot Bostar

district 29

Eliot Bostar

Lincoln

Elected 2020

402-471-2734

ebostar@leg.ne.gov



Bruce Bostelman

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Bruce Bostelman

district 23

Bruce Bostelman

Brainard

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2719

bbostelman@leg.ne.gov



Tom Brandt

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Tom Brandt

district 32

Tom Brandt

Plymouth

Elected 2018

402-471-2711

tbrandt@leg.ne.gov



Tom Brewer

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Tom Brewer

district 43

Tom Brewer

Gordon

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2628

tbrewer@leg.ne.gov



Tom Briese

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Tom Briese

district 41

Tom Briese

albion

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2631

tbriese@leg.ne.gov



John Cavanaugh

updated
Feb 15, 2022

John Cavanaugh

district 9

John Cavanaugh

omaha

Elected 2020

402-471-2723

jcavanaugh@leg.ne.gov



Machaela Cavanaugh

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Machaela Cavanaugh

district 6

Machaela Cavanaugh

omaha

Elected 2018

402-471-2714

mcavanaugh@leg.ne.gov



Robert Clements

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Robert Clements

district 2

Robert Clements

Elmwood

apt. ’17, Elected 2018

402-471-2613

rclements@leg.ne.gov



Jen Day

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Jen Day

district 49

Jen Day

omaha

Elected 2020

402-471-2725

jday@leg.ne.gov



Wendy DeBoer

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Wendy DeBoer

district 10

Wendy DeBoer

Bennington

Elected 2018

402-471-2718

wdeboer@leg.ne.gov



Myron Thorn

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Myron Thorn

district 30

Myron Thorn

adams

Elected 2018

402-471-2620

mdorn@leg.ne.gov



Steve Erdman

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Steve Erdman

district 47

Steve Erdman

Bayard

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2616

serdman@leg.ne.gov



Mike Flood

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Mike Flood

district 19

Mike Flood

Norfolk

Elected 2020

402-471-2929

mflood@leg.ne.gov



Curt Friesen

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Curt Friesen

district 34

Curt Friesen

Henderson

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2630

cfriesen@leg.ne.gov



Suzanne Geist

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Suzanne Geist

district 25

Suzanne Geist

Lincoln

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2731

sgeist@leg.ne.gov



Tim Gragert

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Tim Gragert

district 40

Tim Gragert

Creighton

Elected 2018

402-471-2801

tgragert@leg.ne.gov



Mike Groene

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Mike Groene

district 42

Mike Groene

North Platte

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2729

mgroene@leg.ne.gov



Steve Halloran

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Steve Halloran

district 33

Steve Halloran

Hastings

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2712

shalloran@leg.ne.gov



Ben Hansen

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Ben Hansen

district 16

Ben Hansen

Blair

Elected 2018

402-471-2728

bhansen@leg.ne.gov



Matt Hansen

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Matt Hansen

district 26

Matt Hansen

Lincoln

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2610

mhansen@leg.ne.gov



Mike Hilgers

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Mike Hilgers

District’s 21st

Mike Hilgers

Lincoln

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2673

mhilgers@leg.ne.gov



Robert Hilkemann

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Robert Hilkemann

district 4

Robert Hilkemann

omaha

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2621

rhilkemann@leg.ne.gov



Dan Hughes

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Dan Hughes

district 44

Dan Hughes

Venango

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2805

dhughes@leg.ne.gov



Megan Hunt

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Megan Hunt

district 8

Megan Hunt

omaha

Elected 2018

402-471-2722

mhunt@leg.ne.gov



Mark Kolterman

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Mark Kolterman

district 24

Mark Kolterman

Seward

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2756

mkolterman@leg.ne.gov



Steve Lathrop

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Steve Lathrop

district 12

Steve Lathrop

omaha

Elected 2018

402-471-2623

slathrop@leg.ne.gov



Brett Lindstrom

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Brett Lindstrom

district 18

Brett Lindstrom

omaha

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2618

blindstrom@leg.ne.gov



Lou Ann Linehan

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Lou Ann Linehan

district 39

Lou Ann Linehan

Elkhorn

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2885

llinehan@leg.ne.gov



John Lowe Sr.

updated
Feb 15, 2022

John Lowe Sr.

district 37

John Lowe Sr.

Kearney

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2726

jlowe@leg.ne.gov



John McCollister

updated
Feb 15, 2022

John McCollister

district 20

John McCollister

omaha

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2622

jmccollister@leg.ne.gov



Mike McDonnell

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Mike McDonnell

district 5

Mike McDonnell

omaha

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2710

mmcdonnell@leg.ne.gov



Terrell McKinney

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Terrell McKinney

district 11

Terrell McKinney

omaha

Elected 2020

402-471-2612

tmckinney@leg.ne.gov



Adam Morfeld

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Adam Morfeld

district 46

Adam Morfeld

Lincoln

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2720

amorfeld@leg.ne.gov



Mike Moser

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Mike Moser

district 22

Mike Moser

Columbus

Elected 2018

402-471-2715

mmoser@leg.ne.gov



Dave Murman

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Dave Murman

district 38

Dave Murman

Glenvil

Elected 2018

402-471-2732

dmurman@leg.ne.gov



Rich Pahls

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Rich Pahls

district 31

Rich Pahls

omaha

Elected 2020

402-471-2327

rpahls@leg.ne.gov



Patty Pansing Brooks

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Patty Pansing Brooks

district 28

Patty Pansing Brooks

Lincoln

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2633

ppansingbrooks@leg.ne.gov



Rita Sanders

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Rita Sanders

district 45

Rita Sanders

Bellevue

Elected 2020

402-471-2615

rsanders@leg.ne.gov



Julie SLAMA

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Julie SLAMA

district 1

Julie SLAMA

Peru

apt. ’18, Elected 2020

402-471-2733

jslama@leg.ne.gov



John Stinner

updated
Feb 15, 2022

John Stinner

district 48

John Stinner

Small amount

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2802

jstinner@leg.ne.gov



Tony Vargas

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Tony Vargas

district 7

Tony Vargas

omaha

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2721

tvargas@leg.ne.gov



Lynne Walz

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Lynne Walz

district 15

Lynne Walz

Fremont

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2625

lwalz@leg.ne.gov



JustinWayne

updated
Feb 15, 2022

JustinWayne

district 13

JustinWayne

omaha

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2727

jwayne@leg.ne.gov



Matt Williams

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Matt Williams

district 36

Matt Williams

Gothenburg

Elected 2014, ’18

402-471-2642

mwilliams@leg.ne.gov



Anna Wishart

updated
Feb 15, 2022

Anna Wishart

district 27

Anna Wishart

Lincoln

Elected 2016, 2020

402-471-2632

awishart@leg.ne.gov



Related Articles