Tax Relief

Axne, Durbin again Tax Reduction Act for the Unemployed | information

(Washington) – Efforts are being made in Congress to give tax breaks to Americans who have lost their jobs due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Iowa Congressman Cindy Axne and Illinois Senator Dick Durbin jointly support the Coronavirus Unemployment Benefit Tax Break Act, which waives the first $ 10,200 of unemployment benefits received in 2020, last year’s Unemployment Benefit does not receive a surprising tax burden that puts it in greater economic danger in April.

“We’re going to allow people to write off the first $ 10,200 of that unemployment benefit so we can avoid a surprise tax burden,” said Axne. “The last thing people who are currently unemployed need is a tax burden. We will try to reduce this and allow these workers to focus all of their benefits on caring for their families and including them in their local economy as opposed to paying tax on the first $ 10,200. “

Under the law, the tax break would extend to workers who have received benefits through federal unemployment programs such as Pandemic Unemployment Assistance and Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation, as well as those who have received traditional benefits through their state unemployment insurance. According to Axne, many unemployed Americans are still struggling to make ends meet.

“This is a big difference for people who have been unemployed for a long time,” she said. “Unfortunately there are far too many. That will help them have money in their pockets at a time when we are still struggling to get our economy back on track.”

Axne says Durbin’s support for the bill is key.

“First and foremost, having Senator Durbin’s pressure in the Senate is a long one,” said Axne. “He’s well known for addressing tax issues that help working-class families. So I think he deserves respect in that capacity.”

Other Senate sponsors include Tammy Baldwin from Wisconsin, Bernie Sanders from Vermont, Mazie Hirono from Hawaii, Bob Menendez from New Jersey, Jack Reed from Rhode Island, Tammy Duckworth from Illinois, Catherine Cortez Masto from Nevada, and Elizabeth Warren from Massachusetts. The house’s co-sponsors include Bill Foster from Illinois, Ro Khanna from California, Andy Levin from Michigan and Scott Peters from California. For the full interview with Cindy Axne, please visit our Morning Line page at

Thank you for reading

At KMA we try to be precise in our reporting. If you see a typo or mistake in a story, please contact us by email at

Related Articles